taking a leap

well, it’s the day that only comes once every four years. the day you’re supposed to do something different than you normally would. one year…must’ve been ’96…i remember proposing to the love of my life…something i’d never have done normally…he turned me down. and we broke up a few months afterward. i was heartbroken. and something i’ll never do again, not even on another leap day.

this year? i can’t think of anything different to do. i’m still in a funk and would prefer staying under the covers of my bed all day even though i can see the sun shining brightly outside, so different weather-wise than the last 3 days. i almost miss that gloomy dreariness outside.

i wonder if others do the same? or is it just me, who thinks you have to do something outrageous on leap day? i can’t remember what it was i did in ’00. but i know i did something. maybe my different thing…is that i don’t do one this year?!?!? 🙂

my greatgrandmother was born on feb 29. she passed away a month before her 100th (or 25th, as most leapers would say) birthday. i know i always wondered if my son had been born on the 29th-31st…how would you celebrate what month he is in february? will it just be on the 28th, he’d be 6 months? or does it count into part of march? and then does that back up everything else? but i guess that’s the same question 31st-ers have with months of 30 days. but to me, there’s a big difference between just one day…and 4.

anyway…this post is all over the place. hope you’re all having a good leap day!

