Rudeness

I can’t believe how rude people have become. It seems that people are out only for themselves (and their family) and who cares about everyone else? Who cares about toes you may step on, feelings you may hurt, whom you push out of the way to get what you want? It makes me so sad to see how nasty people have become. 😦

I’ve worked with people on a face-to-face basis for a good 8 years and all I’ve seen is a decline in manners and empathy. It doesn’t matter how nice you try to be to them; in fact, it seems to irritate them even more, and they come back at you with even more bite. All I can think of as the next person goes off is, gee, what is going on in your life that makes you take it all out on me? And I start to wonder…

What is it now that has brought about a change in these people? Why is it getting worse each year? Especially when the people I see are well-established, beautiful home owners, good-paying jobs, and have “happy” families? I wouldn’t think they’d be as stressed as the people who are jobless, homeless, and wondering from where their next meal will be. But for some reason…I don’t know…it seems that the more money they have, the nastier they are.

And not all, I must say. I have a few who are still appreciative of the hard work I do and can emphatize a bit with situations. But I do notice, that that number of people are going way down, while those others have gone up. And you’d think it was the opposite–that complaints would come in more in my first year, than 8 years later. Am I getting worse? That’s why I keep thinking…I need to find a new career. As a co-worker told me, I need to develop a thicker skin…but actually, I’m just so disheartened at how people are now, more than I’m taking it personally.

But really, what kind of career can you have that doesn’t deal with people directly, where you’ll still have all this rudeness around? That’s why I think we need to change people’s attitudes and values…but how? We need to find the cause and work from there…but meanwhile…I’m going to be actively searching the classifieds…otherwise I think I’d enroll in some psychology course and figure out if not what’s the cause…how to help one get over it…

