Hypochondriasm

I guess I’m surrounded by bad news healthwise, so it’s really making me think about my own health and what awful diseases I may have. For the past few days, I’ve had headaches, which I haven’t had in a long time. I used to have them quite frequently, but when I was on Atkins 3 years ago (before all the big hubbub it’s creating now), all my headaches went away. However, since I guess I am eating more carbs now (hey, I’m always a rebel…now that it’s “in”, I refuse to be a part of it), the headaches have returned. Or…I keep thinking…tumors? Strokes? Cancer? Admittedly, all those things have popped up in friends and family in the past 2 weeks, so I guess it’s fresh on my mind, and I’m so self-absorbed I put their problems onto me. But I truly am scared. I guess the true test will be to go back on Atkins and see if the headaches go away. And if not, I can worry again about tumors and having strokes and all that lovely stuff again. 😦

