more

Wow, I’ve really been gone awhile.

I don’t know where, really. Just busy, I guess.

I can’t find out what a blog is! I see this when I google:

A blog is basically a journal that is available on the web. The activity of updating a blog is “blogging” and someone who keeps a blog is a “blogger.” Blogs are typically updated daily using software that allows people with little or no technical background to update and maintain the blog. Postings on a blog are almost always arranged in cronological order with the most recent additions featured most prominantly.

whoopsie about the daily thing, hehe. but no real answer? well it does say “journal”…which is much different than the websites listing.

But then I also found this

Blogs run the gamut of topics. One may be a running commentary on current events in a specific arena. It may be a series of personal musings. It may be a purely political tract, as with Joshua Micah Marshall’s TalkingPointsMemo.com. It may be pointers to other people’s work or products, such as Gizmodo (www.gizmodo.com), a site devoted to the latest and greatest gadgets. Or it may be a constantly updated “what’s new” by a domain expert, such as Glenn Fleishman’s excellent WiFi news and commentary page. While some blogging software permits readers to post their own comments, this feature has to be turned on by the blogger, and a significant number of prominent bloggers have not enabled the comment feature. At the other extreme, the Slashdot weblog, featuring news about technology and tech policy, is essentially written by its audience.

What the best individual blogs tend to have in common is voice — they are clearly written by human beings with genuine human passion.

I actually can’t find now, that original thing that i saw that made question what a blog is…maybe I dreamed it. Well if anyone knows better, I’m sure they’ll let me know.

nice to be posting again 😉

