do do do do do do do

got to thanksgiving dinner a bit early (actually, on time, but with my family, it’s considered early) and got to spend some quality time with my grandma. it pains me to see how decrepit she’s become, and she does like to compare (your skin is so smooth, mine is wrinkly; you’re filled out, I’m just a bag of bones; you have long, lush hair, mine is scraggly; on and on). her hearing is going, and she moves so slowly. but we got to sit and watch jeopardy together, just like we did when I was student teaching at the school across the street from her house. I’d pick her up after school and drive her home and I’d kill time there ’til after traffic died down. the one thing we’d do is sit and watch jeopardy! together, and she’d wow me with all she knew. it was exactly the same today! we sat there and though she said I probably knew every answer, she got every one. she’s still sharp! anyway it was a nice way to spend some time with her and relive that, especially in a time where I’m feeling all melancholy and wanting to turn back the years.

I don’t know if there are any words to the song but imagine the jeopardy! theme here: “do do do do do do do, do do do do do do do do do do, do do do do do do do, do do do do do do do!”

Leave a Reply

