elevator pitch

The assignment for today in the 31dbbb challenge is to write an elevator pitch.

This is really difficult for me. I’m not one to try and pitch anything I’m involved in, so to think of one for a place that I really need to improve in is driving me nuts. I’ve been lying here (back problems), staring at this blank screen, for the past 3 hours. Absolutely nothing springs forth from my mind, which is what this whole journal is supposed to be about, anyway! Thoughts that spring up from time to time! Actually, ulu wale has more of a wild sense to it, like how weeds just sprout up every which way. But my thoughts don’t seem to want to sprout that much any more. 😛

So, I’m going to look back at my About page, as that is a sort of elevator pitch, I guess?

ulu wale nā manaʻo me he pua lā

whether a meme or an idea from another’s log or just wanting to vent frustrations, a seed is planted and from that grows a single flower which blossoms into the stories here.

See, this kinda matched more with the first theme I had, which had a picture of a single flower reaching up toward the sun. Then I imported my stuff to WordPress and couldn’t find a matching blog theme. So maybe it is a time for change. Or I could move to blogspot and find a cuter theme 😛

Anyway, that’s the meaning behind my title, how it just seems to start with one thought and then all this other stuffs come forth. However, I’m not as “free” in my writing–I will write, but then I’ll quickly mark it private or just save it as a draft. I don’t feel comfortable publishing if I don’t think it’s “quality” (which is a definition I struggle with), or something *worth* reading. Not that I think what I have already published is “quality” (I actually don’t), but sometimes I just have to publish something, I feel. So what I do choose to publish is heavily edited, which again, goes against the intent of this journal, which is to just go forth with whatever is in my head at the time.

And I’m just going in circles, here. But, I admit, that’s me, always going around in circles. Hmm, maybe I need a more circular theme.

Anyway, I’m having problems thinking of something to write, so maybe I’ll just have to publish this and just keep thinking about it. Hopefully something will come to me tomorrow. 🙂 But any thoughts or suggestions are welcome! 🙂

31dbbb at yeah write

4 Comments »

  1. iasoupmama Said:

    It seems to me that a whole garden sprouted from the suggestion to make an elevator pitch — I find the way your thoughts process fascinating and very much ulu wale.

    • malia Said:

      Thanks! I do tend to ramble and there are lots of things that spring forth, but I am way too shear-happy and cut them all down before they have a chance to grow. I’m trying hard not to censor myself for this month, to help me try and be better. We’ll see how it goes! Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  2. I like the image of a seed blossoming into stories.

    • malia Said:

      Thanks! It kinda matched more with the header of my old blog theme–you could see that lone flower which was supposed to represent the story. It doesn’t really show that in this one, so that’s why I was thinking that perhaps I needed a change. I wanted my visual to match what I meant, since I’m not too clear in writing what I mean sometimes! haha! Thanks for visiting and commenting!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

