list post

Okay, day 2’s assignment is a list post. I did a whole month of those, and that was so hard–I’m way too wordy and way too rambly for lists. But I told myself I’ll try everything no matter how uncomfortable it is. That’s the only way we get better, right? 🙂

Reasons to NOT clean the house

  • it is fun to step over items in the path–your very own obstacle course!
  • it takes skill to build up a pile without having it fall over.
  • you won’t have to entertain many visitors.
  • your memories and things of significance are all around you within reach.
  • your animals are more able to be caught when they escape, as they navigate around things.
  • there’s a definite artistic element to delicately placed items in the heaps of things all over the place.
  • hone your scavenger skill by having to search for things.
  • you can spare yourself injury from moving things around.
  • this disorganization keeps your always-categorizing mind working hard!
  • you have more time to do other, more important things, like read.
  • you don’t feel so alone as you would in a cleared, empty, uncluttered place.
  • you can be on a tv show!

🙂

just trying to make myself feel better, since I *did* injure myself rearranging stuff around. *sigh*

31dbbb at yeah write

16 Comments »

  1. Erica M Said:

    I see you and I are living together somehow. My favorite thing is the architectural wonders called piles of clothing. How high until they tip over? That’s the record I try to beat every week.

    • malia Said:

      heehee! Yes, that’s totally what I’m dealing with now. I actually got it pretty high the other day! 😛

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Stopping by from YeahWrite 31dbbb.
    @JLenniDorner

    *huge anime eyes*
    I think I love you.

    Ha ha ha. No really, what a great list! I want to print it out on a blanket and snuggle with it. Or maybe a pillow… a nice big pillow to also be used to muffle the sounds of people who wish to take on the other side of the debate.

    Can we change the last one from a tv show to “Maybe Mr. Monk from the show Monk will turn out to be a real person and will come clean and organize for you for free!” Mmmmmmm yes.

    • malia Said:

      Oooh!!! Great idea! I LOVE Monk! ♥ He can get going on the house, and I’d sit, eat popcorn, and just watch him. He’d probably have a nervous breakdown, though! 😛

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Tracie Said:

    I am the queen of the obstacle course path that lives in the walkway around me bed.

    • malia Said:

      hee! Yes, it’s always interesting navigating that course, especially in the middle of the night, on the way to the bathroom! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  4. Such a fun list!

  5. Ha! As if I needed reasons…;P
    Seriously, this was funny!

  6. scrivener Said:

    This is some of your best writing. You keep saying you’re not clever, but this is clever.

  7. I can nod my way through a lot of these (most of these). I have my random way of remembering where things are. If someone cleans for me and I can’t find something, it makes me crazy. But I still love the rare occasions when the house is straight.

    • malia Said:

      Yes, I love it when the house is tidy. I feel more calm, or something. However, those times are indeed rare. Ah, well.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Nic Said:

    Love this list, it could be my mantra on life. I confess I’m a dish stacker, I would rather construct huge precarious towers of plates and mugs than put clean dishes away. Lost blogged about the dangers of housework http://cheerfulreasoning.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/rant-number-1.html

    • malia Said:

      heehee! there is a certain beauty to it, not to mention the challenge of seeing how high you can get your tower! hope your bruises are healing up!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

