hospital

there are many perspectives to be had when you’re in the hospital. i’ll have to come back later and write about it. right now, i just need my rest.

—-

all right, today’s prompt is:

Monday, February 3, 2013
Write about an event that happened today. Now write about it from the perspective of someone else in the room — your child, your partner, a person dining in the same restaurant… your choice.

All right. Among the many things I had to do today, one of them was to get a CT scan. That was an experience! First of all, I had to have a full bladder, so they made me drink a lot of water. I was to tell the technician when I felt like my bladder was full, on a scale from 1 to 10, at a 7. So I drink my water and wait. I feel the 7, so I stand up to look around for the technician. He is nowhere to be seen. So I start pacing the hallway a bit. The pressure to go to the bathroom is starting to grow, and I am tempted to run to the bathroom, but then I know I have to wait even longer. So I just pace.

Finally, he shows up and asks if I’m ready. I nod vigorously. He said on a scale of 1-10, what fullness am I? I said about an 8. It was really more of a 9, but I know he said to tell me when it was a 7–but he was nowhere around! He kinda made a face and told me to get dressed in that scrub like clothes, but there was someone in the dressing room, so I had to wait. My urge to use the bathroom is growing.

Finally, he grabs scrubs and tells me to change in another room because the other person was taking so long. Okay, I don’t know if I should be flattered or what, but he grabbed scrubs that were a bit too tiny for me. I could barely get them on. I can’t imagine how silly I must’ve looked. Then I had to wait out in the hallway as they prepped the room, and there were other people all out there, waiting, and seeing me in the too-small scrubs with my belly poking out. ugh. I was so ashamed. And I *really* had to go to the bathroom.

After a few minutes in the hallway, the technician opens the room and invites me in. He explains the procedure and has me lie down on the thingie. He asks me how much I weigh and when I tell him, he repeats it, but then punches in to the machine 10 pounds heavier. hmph. Now he thinks I’m larger than I am. Well, no wonder, with my belly poking out. *sigh*

He tells me listen for the commands, as the machine tells you when to hold your breath. So I lay back and close my eyes and hear a very faint “hold your breath.” So I do. Then I hear “breathe” very softly, so I do. And then “hold your breath” again. All very faintly. And I’m wondering why because the machine didn’t even start going yet. That’s when I realized those faint commands were coming from the room *next* to me. d’oh! How stupid I must’ve looked! Finally my machine talks to me in a nice, loud voice. “Take a deep breath.” Oh, okay. duh.

Anyway all these pictures are being taken and he’s leading me from room to room to go by different machines when all the while I have to use the bathroom so badly! TMI, but I was so afraid to sit up because I knew a few drops would leak out. When he finally let me go to the bathroom, it was such a relief! Ahhh! I went back in, where he had me waiting for about 10 minutes, then he told me to go to the bathroom again. I did, and was surprised that more came out. But now with a completely empty bladder, I was to take more pictures. Then they put an IV in (UGH! I *HATE* those!) and proceeded to fill up my bladder again. When it wasn’t happening fast enough, he put in a drug to stimulate my kidneys. I swear, in about 2 minutes, I had to go *BAD*. BADBADBADBAD. It was horrible. But I was strapped to the table and could not leave. Then he had to inject me with a dye, which he said would bring a warm feeling all over my body–it will feel weird, but it will go away. So he injects me and the machines whirl around and take pictures. And, yes, I felt the warmness–but all in my groin!!! I SOOOOOOOO had to go to the bathroom even more then!!!! I was squirming and pleading with the technician in my head to PLEASE let me go to the bathroom. Then after the machine stopped, I thought yay! I can go bathroom! But he tells me we need to wait 5 minutes for the dye to show up. I was like WHAAAATTT???? OH MY GOODNESS. That was the most uncomfortable 5 minutes!!! I tried distracting myself, I tried singing, I tried counting…all I could think about is INEEDTOGOTOTHEBATHROOMRIGHT*NOW*!!! ughughughughughugh. That was horrible. He knew I was uncomfortable, as he started giving me countdowns–“4 more minutes.” UGH! “3 more minutes.” I AM GOING TO DIE. “2 more minutes.” ARRHGHGHGHGHGHGHGH. I was squirming and tightening my muscles soooo hard! UGH. Finally, I hear the machines start up, and they whirl, and finally, they are finished. He unhooks my IV and says I can go to the bathroom, but I am so afraid of sitting up, as I am so sure that as soon as I do, my bladder is going to explode and I’m just going to get everything all wet. So I tried to roll off gracefully, but there is no way to do that, and he tried to help me up, thinking I couldn’t sit up–I could, I just didn’t want accidental leakage!!! So I swung my legs to the side, so I could roll up, but he starts laughing because I swung my legs to the wrong side. But I had to, because that was the closer side!!! He’s all, no, you have to come this way. I thought, oh no. I’m going to wet my pants. I know it. But somehow, I was able to get up with no accidents, and I ran to the bathroom to empty out my poor bladder.

I stay for about 10 minutes more as he wants to monitor me to make sure I’m okay, and then he removes my IV (I so *HATE* those things!!) and sends me on my way. Upon leaving, I immediately have to go to the bathroom again. Stupid people trying to fill up my bladder! UGH.

That was an experience that I hope I never have to deal with again!!!

—–

Hmm. Doctor called for a CT scan to be done ASAP. I wonder if the patient is down here yet. Let me go check.

Ah, there’s someone in the wait room right now. I’ll go check if that’s her. “Hi! Are you here for the CT scan?”

She nods and confirms the doctor’s name. I noticed she is fidgeting with a bottled water, so I tell her, “Ah, they’ve already got you filling up your bladder, I see?” She smiles and nods, holding up the bottle. “All right, well you let me know when you’re a 7, your bladder fullness. Okay?”

She looks at me confusedly, so I explain that on a scale from 1-10 for fullness of bladder, she needs to tell me when she’s about a 7, because then she needs to start prepping so that we can get pictures of the full bladder. She says okay, and I walk back to the room to prep it.

After a while, I walk back out and see her pacing the hallway. I ask her if she’s at a 7 yet. She tells me she’s more like an 8. What? Doesn’t this girl listen? I told her a 7! I hurry her over to the changing room but there’s someone in there. I grab some scrubs for her and direct her to another room to change. Geez, these people. Don’t listen! I tell her to meet me outside of Room B.

I go back in the room and make sure all the equipment is set up. I come out to get her, and she is facing away from everyone. I call her in and see that she doesn’t even have the clothes on right! What kind of person is this? Geez. I usher her in and start to explain what is going to happen. She looks very uncomfortable. She probably has to go to the bathroom badly–well, she should have told me earlier! I strap her in and her belly is out there, all exposed. I try to pull down her top to cover it, but it won’t go down. Geez. I grab a sheet out of the cupboard and drape it over that monstrosity so I don’t have to look at it. I do her pictures, and then take her over to the other room to get some other pictures. Then I let her go to the bathroom. She looks so relieved and runs out. Geez.

I go back and send off the pictures I took to the doctor to review. She came back in and sat down, but I’m going to let her just sit there for a while. I talk with the other technician for a while. Then I come out and tell her to use the bathroom again. She looks at me oddly, so I explain that more has accumulated in her bladder while she was sitting there, so to empty it out again. She nods and goes, and I go back to talking with my co-worker. “Can you believe the person I got stuck with?” I ask her. My co-worker nods sympathetically.

After, the patient returns and so I begin by taking her vitals and then hooking up the IV. I have a heck of a time finding her vein, and she told me that they always have a hard time finding her veins, that when she had her c-section surgery, they had to put the IV in the back of her hand because they couldn’t find the vein. Great. That one’s used as a last resort, so her veins must really be hard to get! I grab a heating pad and wrap it around her arm, and I give her a ball to squeeze. I tell her she is going to force the veins out by exercising them out, and making them warm. I leave her like that for 5 minutes. I come back and massage her arm up and down and tell her to keep squeezing the ball until I realize she doesn’t know how to squeeze a ball correctly. I take off the heating pad and still can’t find the vein. Great. I poke around and flick her arm, apologizing for having to do this, but I do need to make the vein appear. I finally find one dimpling, and hope it will take the IV. After a few more flicks and her pumping her fist, I am able to get the IV in. YES. I do test dosages, and it seems to be in, so that’s great. I start taping the IV into place, all the while monitoring the needle. She is very quiet through all of this, but does seem to be listening to me intently as I walk her through what I’m doing. Her gaze is kind of unwavering, actually, and is making me nervous. I avoid eye contact as I explain what is going to happen and what it’s going to feel like. I check on her periodically, and she nods that she’s okay. I flick the IV bag a bit to make it go in faster. I should be on lunch already but here I am trying to get this emergency procedure done! Grr.

I ask her if her bladder is feeling full yet, and she shakes her head. I’m so hungry right now. I’m going to grab the stimulant that will make her kidneys work faster. I explain that this will stimulate her kidneys to fill up her bladder as I insert the drug. After the bag has emptied, I look at her–she looks very uncomfortable. “You’re feeling your bladder full now?” I ask.

“Yes,” she says, feebly.

“Yes, I can see it on the image,” I tell her. “All right, now I will be putting in the dye, and then we’ll take some pictures, and then you can go empty your bladder.”

She smiles, relieved. I explain to her how her body will feel warmness, starting at the top of her head, all the way down to the bottom of her feet. I tell her it feels weird but it only lasts a few minutes, and then it will go away. I tell her to hold her arm straight and not to move it even the least little bit, because I don’t want the IV to come out. “NO BENDING!” I tell her harshly, as I position her arm in the air straight above her. I go into the little room to the side and press the button to administer the dye, calling out to her how she should be feeling as it’s given to her, and not to move her arm. Luckily, she doesn’t move, and it goes in nicely. PHEW. I take the first few pictures, and then come out to check on her.

“How’s it going?” I ask. Her face looks pained. “Are you okay?”

She nods hesitantly. “Your bladder is full?” I ask.

She nods vigorously. “We’re almost done. We just have to wait 5 minutes for the dye to take.”

I see her eyes grow large. She looks very uncomfortable, and she’s starting to squirm. Gosh, I can’t take this. I turn quickly and pretend to write something down, and then I take it into the adjacent room. I call from the room the countdown until I can take the next pictures. I know she must be very uncomfortable, but I cannot look at her. She’ll just have to endure it for now.

After five minutes, I call out to her to listen to machine when it tells you to breathe and hold your breath. I try to get those images done and sent off for review as quickly as possible. When I am given the okay, I go in and tell her she can now go to the bathroom. But she doesn’t get up right away. Is she stuck? I reach my arm behind her head and push her up, and she does this weird roll off to the side, but the idiot went to the side that’s blocked! I told her, laughing, no, she needs to come to me, she can’t go off that way. She hesitates a bit, so I hold out my arm to help her over the side. She swings her legs over to the right side and then gets up, pulling up her falling pants. “Go to the bathroom. Take your time. Use it normally,” I tell her, and she smiles and rushes out the door.

Geez! I start tidying up the machine, wiping it down. When she walks back in, I tell her the images are fine, and she can go get dressed but to come back in the room afterwards so I can monitor her. When she does, she looks so much more comfortable now. She slinks back in the chair as her eyes dart around the room, taking in every little detail. I ask her periodically how she’s doing, and she nods that she’s fine. Finally, I test her reflexes to make sure she is fine, and I check her skin for rash. Then I take out her IV and wrap her arm tightly–I don’t want her to start bleeding all over herself now. It is a bit tight–I can see her hand is all red–but better safe than sorry, right? She looks like the type who won’t put pressure on her arm, so I gotta make sure I close the vein. I then tell her she’s free to go. She looks me right in the eye and smiles, thanking me for my hard work. Well, that was nice. I tell her she’s very welcome, and that I hope that everything turns out well for her. She smiles shyly and says, “Thank you!” and is on her way.

Good. Now I can go to lunch!

Leave a Reply

