alien

Wednesday, February 5, 2013
You meet an alien and need to explain to it blogging. Explain what blogging is (and what blogging means to you) without ever using the word “blog.”

Basically, it’s like having a journal, except that it’s online and other people can read it. It mostly contains your thoughts and your feelings on certain subjects; it may tell stories; it may be a review of a product. But it’s one’s own thoughts that are put out there for others to read.

For me, it helps me to work things out sometimes. Like if I’m really irritated at something, if I write it out in the journal, I start to feel better–either I see the other side of it, a different perspective, or I realize how ridiculous I was being. When I’m feeling very depressed, it helps me to write it out–a kind of therapy. To have it all out in the open instead of being bottled up inside is very helpful. Also, sometimes I get feedback that says I’m not the only one who feels that way, and it is helpful to know that others go through this, too. Sometimes, I just want to sharpen up my writing, so I will write things that I can edit or revise or whatnot. It’s hard for me to think of topics at times, which is why I hardly write, but overall, I enjoy the experience of getting my thoughts out to help me think through issues or things.

Leave a Reply

